SVRC Professional Learning and Activities Calendar 2016

The Statewide Vision Resource Centre’s Professional Learning Program is a highly regarded and reasonably priced calendar of activities which is open to Visiting Teachers, class and subject teachers, integration teachers and aides, other professionals, families, students and members of the wider community.

SVRC Professional Development Program 2016

Date

Term 1 – 2016

28 Jan to 24 March

Educational Support for Blind Students – this day is designed for class and subject teachers, integration teachers and aides, therapists, parents/care-givers and Visiting Teachers who support students who use braille – also available via Polycom Monday 8 February
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Wednesday 17 February
Educational Support for Students with Low Vision – repeated on 23 February. This day is designed for class and subject teachers, integration teachers and aides, therapists, parents/care-givers and VTs who support students who have low vision (max onsite participants: 60) Monday 22 February
Educational Support for Students with Low Vision – repeated from 22 February. This day is designed for class and subject teachers, integration teachers and aides, therapists, parents/care-givers and VTs who support students who have low vision (max onsite participants: 60; also offered face-to-face and via Polycom in Footscray) Tuesday 23 February
New Visiting Teacher Day – for new and newish VTs from 9.30am Monday 29 February
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Tuesday 1 March
Including students with vision impairments in PE, sport and recreation programs with Charlie Roberts and Lea Nagel Wednesday 9 March
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Wednesday 16 March
Family Futures Forum to be held at SVRC Saturday 19 March

Term 2 – 2015

11 April to 24 June

Educational Support for Vision Impaired Students with Additional Impairments – this day is designed for teachers, aides, therapists, parents/care-givers and VTs who support vision impaired students who have additional impairments (max participants: 60) Tuesday 19 April
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Wednesday 4 May
Art4Kids with VI?Including students with vision impairments in the school Art program with Michael Donnelly to be held at the SVRC Wednesday 11 May
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Tuesday 17 May
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Wednesday 1 June
Dot Power – literacy-based activities for braille readers from pre-school to grade 3 Tuesday 7 June
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Tuesday 14 June
National Braille Music Camp – NSW – email romad@westnet.com.au 25 June to 2 July

Term 3 – 2016

11 July to 16 Sept

Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Wednesday 20 July
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Tuesday 2 August
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Wednesday 17 August
Skill Power – hands-on technology workshops Tuesday 30 August
Dot Power – literacy-based activities for braille readers from pre-school to grade 3 Tuesday 6 September
Space Camp – Huntsville, Alabama 24 to 29 September

Term 4 – 2016

3 Oct to 20 Dec

SPEVI Day TBC 3 October
Support Skills Try Day for 2017 Friday 11 November
Dot Power – literacy-based activities for braille readers from pre-school to grade 3 Tuesday 15 November
SVRC Expo of Educational Technology Monday 28 November
SVRC Christmas Morning Tea – All welcome! Please RSVP to svrc@svrc.vic.edu.au Wednesday 7 December

Please note: We will be adding new events to our professional learning calendar throughout the year – please watch the front page of The Bulletin for additional sessions.

Share This Page